July 1 is the first day legislation known as “Chandler’s Law”goes into effect, marking new safety rules for children on All-Terrain Vehicles (ATV).
The South Carolina Children’s Hospital Collaborative hopes the implementation of the new law will lower the number of ATV-related injuries and deaths in South Carolina.
The most recent death was that of 11-year-old Kershaw resident Kyle Kelly on June 25. He was not wearing a helmet.
Chandler’s Law requires ATV riders 15 and younger to wear a safety helmet and eye protection, plus have a certificate showing they’ve completed a “hands-on” training course. It prohibits those under six from operating an ATV.
Parents and guardians of children can be charged with a misdemeanor and fined up to $200 if they let their children operate an ATV in violation of the standards.
According to the collaborative, there are 44 states with ATV riding laws for children, and many of these states have seen reductions in the number of ATV deaths and accidents since those laws were enacted.